• Oak Park USD Board of Education

    January is School Board Recognition Month. This month we pay tribute to the remarkable individuals on the OPUSD Board of Education. Each board member volunteers countless hours with unwavering dedication to our district and students. Their behind-the-scenes work might often go unnoticed, but it forms the foundation of our district's success. We are deeply grateful for the time our board members invest, their thoughtful insights in each discussion, and their unwavering focus on our vision: propelling OPUSD forward as a leader in holistic education where innovation, excellence, and student well-being lead the way.

    We salute their dedication, civic responsibility, and vision to shape the future of all OPUSD students. Thank you, OPUSD board members, for serving our students, staff, families, and the community of Oak Park!

    The Board of Education is the governing body of the Oak Park Unified School District.  It is a five-member entity, with each individual board member elected at large and serving four-year terms for the unincorporated area of Oak Park.  After every term, board members may choose to seek re-election. The main responsibilities of the Board of Education include setting district policy, establishing district goals, ensuring that the district is compliant with Federal, State, and Local requirements, creating a budget that prioritizes the established goals, and maintaining contractual relationships with the Oak Park Teachers Association and the Oak Park Classified Association.  The Board is also responsible for employing the Superintendent as well as the unit to whom the Superintendent is accountable.  Together, the Board of Education and the Superintendent form the Governance Team, working collaboratively to fulfill the unique responsibilities of each entity.  The Board fulfills its responsibilities by way of action at regularly scheduled monthly Board meetings as well as special meetings when warranted.  We welcome your attendance at Board meetings and think you will find them beneficial to increase your knowledge, awareness, and understanding of the district.  As elected representatives, we strive to balance the interests of all facets of the Oak Park Unified School District and the community at large in our decisions, with the children at the forefront of our minds.  
    You can contact the OPUSD Board of Education members at:

     Denise Helfstein, President - DHelfstein@opusd.org
     Tina Wang, Vice President - TWang@opusd.org
     Soyon Hardy, Clerk - SHardy@opusd.org
     Megan Lantsman, Member - MLantsman@opusd.org
     Jim Moynihan, Member - JMoynihan@opusd.org
     Tess Leong, Student Member - TLeong02@opusd.us

    Or through the Public Information and Strategic Communications Officer, Ragini Aggarwal, at raggarwal@opusd.org.